Edinburgh Rugby duo join Bristol on loan



Pictured: Edinburgh Rugby duo Stuart McInally [left] and Ross Rennie [right] – SNS Group.

Edinburgh Rugby forwards Ross Rennie and Stuart McInally will join former Scotland head coach Andy Robinson on loan to Bristol Rugby.

Head coach, Alan Solomons said: “We have agreed, on mutual grounds, to accept the loan of Ross Rennie and Stuart McInally to Bristol Rugby.

“It has been a challenging couple of years for Ross, who recently returned from long-term knee and shoulder injuries. A fresh start will re-energise him.”

Rennie said: “Edinburgh my home town and I love the club. It’s been my life for the last 10 years but I think the time is right to have a new challenge.

“I know the direction Bristol want to go and the plans that Andy [Robinson] has, so it’s an exciting time to join the club. There’s an important few months coming up and I hope that I can contribute to the cause.”

McInally had made fifty-eight appearances for Edinburgh Rugby before making a positional switch to hooker last summer.

The former Scotland age-grade captain has adapted well to his new position and is looking forward to the next step in his positional development.

He said: “I’ve got a strong ambition to play professional rugby for Edinburgh and international rugby for Scotland, so the opportunity to get regular game time at Bristol was something I jumped at.

“I’m looking forward to getting started and helping the club achieve a top four finish in the Championship.”

Solomons added: “Stuart’s [McInally] loan spell will allow him to continue his development in a new position in a fiercely competitive, and often forward dominated league.”

About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Scotland Rugby. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

