DHL WP Under-19s unchanged for Sharks

Nazeem Adams, the head coach of the DHL Western Province Under-19 team, has announced an unchanged starting line-up for this Saturday’s meeting with the Sharks U19s at DHL Newlands (14h45).

The DHL WP U19s cruised to a 69-0 win over Border last week and Adams has kept faith with the same starting XV, making just one change on the bench.

The change on the bench sees Michael Haznar replace James Verity-Amm in the No.23 jersey, with Jason Morris continuing as the starting inside centre – that after Morris replaced Haznar in the No.12 jersey at the 11th hour last weekend.

WP’s big victory over Border last Saturday was their first win of the season and coach Adams said: “I really don’t think that one should read too much into a 69-0 scoreline, but it was important for us to pick up that first win and for the players to express themselves, which they did against Border.

“I thought we showed some improvement in our defeat to the Bulls (two weeks before the Border match). We continued along that upwards curve against Border and I believe that we can keep winning if we cut out those errors in our game.”

Speaking about the challenge of facing the Sharks, who have lost just once in 2013, Adams told “We’ve analysed the Sharks. They’re a good team; they put over 50 points past Free State, who we drew with in the first round.

“(But) a real highlight for me last week was our defence – we kept Border scoreless, which was a boost for our defence. We’ve worked hard on our defence (over the past few weeks), as defensive errors cost us against Free State, the Leopards and the Blue Bulls, and I think we’re making significant progress there.

“I’m confident that we can score points and win matches – provided that we pull our weight on defence – and I feel that this DHL WP Under-19 team will continue to improve as the season goes on.”

Saturday’s match, the first of two curtain-raisers to the Western Province v Free State Cheetahs Absa Currie Cup match (kick-off 19h15) at DHL Newlands, will get underway at 14h45.

The DHL Western Province Under-19 team:
15. Jason Worrall, 14. Tiaan Mouton, 13. Michael Mvelase, 12. Jason Morris, 11. Dalen Goliath, 10. Chris Smith, 9. SP Ferreira, 8. Steven Meiring, 7. Luke van der Smit, 6. Gareth de Bruin, 5. Jan Uys (c), 4. Sebastian Ferreira, 3. Michael van Tonder, 2. Chad Solomon, 1. Liam Hendricks
16. Ramone Samuels, 17. Nathan Gogela, 18. Wesley Adonis, 19. Sebastian Negri, 20. Josh Moon, 21. Pieter Schoonraad,22. Jonty Bredell, 23. Michael Haznar

Referee: Eduan Nel

follow Dave on @djvanman on twitter


About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on August 15, 2013, in Currie Cup Rugby. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: