The Qantas Wallabies have today announced eight uncapped players in new coach Ewen McKenzie’s inaugural 30-man Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship squad.
The final squad has been narrowed down following a five-day training camp in Sydney with McKenzie and his team to now intensify their preparations ahead of the Qantas Wallabies opening Test match against New Zealand at ANZ Stadium on Saturday 17 August.
The inclusion of eight uncapped representatives ensures there will be a new look Qantas Wallabies line-up to face the All Blacks next weekend, where they will begin their pursuit of winning the Bledisloe Cup for the first time since 2002.
Among the potential debutants are flyhalves Matt Toomua and Bernard Foley, backrowers Scott Fardy and Jake Schatz, prop Scott Sio, hooker Albert Anae, centre Tevita Kuridrani and scrumhalf Nic White.
“I was really impressed with how each individual responded to the competitiveness of the opening week of camp and I’m pleased to say that the player’s attitude and uptake of our program was at a very high level,” McKenzie said.
“It’s unfortunate that a number of good players missed out although this isn’t necessarily a case of poor performance but rather a reflection of some of the quality we have coming through in Australian Rugby right now.
“For the moment though, we’ve narrowed our way down to a group of players we believe are capable of getting the job done against the All Blacks in just over a week. 
“That doesn’t mean the players chosen won’t change in the future and that those who have missed out this time will be forgotten.”
The 30-man squad, which will be captained by veteran lock James Horwill, boasts a combined total of 575 Test appearances and includes players from all five Super Rugby provinces – ACT Brumbies (11), Queensland Reds (9), NSW Waratahs (6), Western Force (3) and the Melbourne Rebels (1).
It also has an average age of just under 25-years-old with hooker Stephen Moore the only representative 30 years or above.
Now that the squad has been finalised, McKenzie said it would be important to get on with the business of beating the All Blacks.
“There has understandably been a large amount of content to get through on the field but we’ve also been focusing on the mental side and ensuring we have the right mindset going into the game,” he said.
“The reality is not one player in the current squad has lifted up the Bledisloe Cup before, but if they are good enough over seven days and two matches then this will change.
“That’s an exciting challenge and one the group must get their minds around quickly if we are going to be successful.”
McKenzie also thanked Castrol EDGE for their ongoing support of the Rugby Championship after they unveiled a new award to be presented to the Qantas Wallabies player deemed to be the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer across the Championship’s six-Tests.
“There is no doubt we are looking to raise the bar in terms of performance and the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer of the Series Award will provide great recognition for the player deemed to have given his all across our campaign.”
Voted on a 3-2-1 basis by Fairfax Media’s Rugby correspondents after each Test of the Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship, the winner will be announced and presented with the specially struck trophy following the Qantas Wallabies return from Argentina.
The Qantas Wallabies 30-man Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship squad is:
Player Position State Age Test Caps
Albert Anae Hooker/Prop Queensland Reds 24 Uncapped
Ben Alexander Prop ACT Brumbies 28 51
Adam Ashley-Cooper Centre NSW Waratahs 29 80
Quade Cooper Flyhalf Queensland Reds 25 38
Nick Cummins Wing Western Force 25 6
Kane Douglas Lock NSW Waratahs 24 9
Saia Fainga’a Hooker Queensland Reds 26 19
Scott Fardy Lock/Backrow ACT Brumbies 29 Uncapped
Israel Folau Wing/Fullback NSW Waratahs 24 3
Bernard Foley Flyhalf NSW Waratahs 23 Uncapped
Will Genia Scrumhalf Queensland Reds 25 44
Liam Gill Backrow Queensland Reds 21 10
Michael Hooper Backrow NSW Waratahs 21 16
James Horwill Lock Queensland Reds 28 38
Sekope Kepu Prop NSW Waratahs 27 26
Tevita Kuridrani Centre ACT Brumbies 22 Uncapped
Christian Leali’ifano Centre ACT Brumbies 25 3
Ben McCalman Backrow Western Force 25 22
Hugh McMeniman Lock/Backrow Western Force 29 21
Jesse Mogg Fullback ACT Brumbies 24 1
Stephen Moore Hooker ACT Brumbies 30 79
Ben Mowen Backrow ACT Brumbies 28 3
James O’Connor Wing/Fullback Melbourne Rebels 23 40
Jake Schatz Backrow Queensland Reds 23 Uncapped
Rob Simmons Lock Queensland Reds 24 26
Scott Sio Prop ACT Brumbies 21 Uncapped
James Slipper Prop Queensland Reds 24 37
Joe Tomane Wing ACT Brumbies 23 3
Matt Toomua Flyhalf ACT Brumbies 23 Uncapped
Nic White Scrumhalf ACT Brumbies 23 Uncapped

follow Dave on @djvanman on twitter


About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Australian Rugby. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: