Captain Uys returns for DHL WP Under-19s

Regular captain and lock Jan Uys is back in the DHL Western Province Under-19 team for their Provincial Under-19 match against Border at DHL Newlands on Saturday (kick-off 12h45).

Uys will take over the captaincy from fellow lock Sebastian Ferreira, with Sebastian Negri (who wore the No.5 jersey against the Blue Bulls two weeks ago) dropping to the bench.

In all, coach Nazeem Adams has made four changes to his starting line-up – with one of those changes being positional – and there are an additional four new faces amongst the replacements.

The WP Under-19s, who tasted overall success in this tournament last season, are chasing their first victory in 2013 after one draw and two defeats.

Coach Adams told “I cannot fault the players’ commitment, so I’m not about to start panicking!

“I said before the Blue Bulls game that I wanted an improved performance from our first two matches and although the scoreboard doesn’t reflect that I thought we were better in many facets of play (against the Bulls). However, one or two mistakes cost us against Free State and the Leopards in Week One and Two and the Bulls made us pay a lot more last time out.”

Looking ahead, however, Adams added: “I think the bye week was good for us, the guys have played a lot of rugby in a short space of time and hopefully it would have refreshed us against Border.

“Border are not to be under-estimated, but we are looking forward to the game and I know a lot of the players are looking forward to playing their first-ever provincial match at DHL Newlands.”

Saturday’s match, the first of two curtain-raisers to the Western Province-Blue Bulls Absa Currie Cup match (at 17h05), will get underway at 12h45. Tickets can be purchased at

The DHL Western Province Under-19 team to take on Border is as follows:

15. Jason Worrall
14. Tiaan Mouton
13. Michael Mvelase
12. Michael Haznar
11. Dalen Goliath
10. Chris Smith
9. SP Ferreira
8. Steven Meiring
7. Luke van der Smit
6. Gareth de Bruin
5. Jan Uys (captain)
4. Sebastian Ferreira
3. Michael van Tonder
2. Chad Solomon
1. Liam Hendricks

16. Ramone Samuels
17. Nathan Gogela
18. Wesley Adonis
19. Sebastian Negri
20. Josh Moon
21. Pieter Schoonraad
22. Jason Morris
23. James Verity-Amm

Referee: Gerrie de Bruin

follow Dave on @djvanman on twitter


About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Currie Cup Rugby. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: