EDINBURGH RUGBY EXTENDS TONKS CONTRACT TO 2015


Fullback Greig Tonks (SNS)

Edinburgh Rugby today extended the contract of 24 year-old Scotland internationalist Greig Tonks until 2015.

The former Northampton Saints full-back signed in the summer of 2012 and went on to become one of the club’s most consistent performers, scooping both the Player and Players’ Player awards.

An ever-present in the Edinburgh Rugby back-line, he started all but two possible matches for the club (26/28 games) before earning his first senior cap on Scotland’s 2013 summer tour of South Africa.

Having settled into the city, Tonks expressed his delight at putting pen to paper and set his sights on bringing success to the capital.

He said: “I came to Edinburgh Rugby intent on playing as much as possible and hoping to pursue an international career with Scotland so, on personal level, my time here has gone really well.

“I was happy to achieve my goals in a pretty whirlwind year, so it was an obvious decision for me to try and stay as long as possible, even before the club opened the talks to extend my contract.

“Naturally I’m keen to get more game time for Scotland after getting my first cap but it’s really important to me to have good season with Edinburgh Rugby.

“As a team we need to perform better. There’s a lot happening behind the scenes to get excited about and hopefully this time next year we’ll be looking back on a better year.”

Since his arrival Tonks has been characterised by his stability at the back, a keen eye for a counter attack and huge left boot, making him a popular figure with the Murrayfield fans.

This has not been lost on managing director, David Davies, who explained that Tonks’ consistency on the pitch and attitude off it were crucial to securing his services on a longer deal, despite having a year left to run on his original contract.

Davies said: “We have been very impressed with Greig [Tonks].

“He had a very good debut season at the club and we were delighted to watch him get his first Scotland cap in the summer.

“He’s a genuine talent and individual, and the kind of bright young player that we want to develop at this club.”

About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Scotland Rugby. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

