Stormers v Cheetahs: a Must win game for both sides

The DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs will take each other on, on Saturday at Newlands. It is a must win game for both sides. The Stormers can’t afford to lose another game if they are to stand any chance of making the play-offs, while the Cheetahs need to win all their remaining games if they hope to win the South African conference.

The Stormers has slim mathematical chance to make it into the top 6, but not only will they have to win all 3 their remaining games, they will have to rely on other results going their way. They do however welcome back their Springboks with only Jean de Villiers not available due to injury. They will look for a bonus point win.

The Cheetahs are also in search of a bonus point win and with all their Springboks back and fit, they have a great chance of doing this. It will take them a long way to securing a top 6 finish and even a chance of winning the South african conference.

Expect a game that will start of tentatively but open uop towards the end as both teams will search for the win. If a bonus point try is up for grabs is to be seen. There are not many of those in south African derbies. The Stormers will hope that home ground advantage will give the game to them. The cheetahs will rely on momentum.

Prediction: Stormers by a very small margin.

Kick-off is at 19:10 on Saturday.

DHL Stormers team: 15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Deon Fourie (c), 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff. Reserves: 16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. Ross Geldenhuys (On debut for the DHL Stormers), 18. Gerbrandt Grobler, 19. Don Armand, 20. Dewaldt Duvenage, 21. Gary van Aswegen, 22. Gerhard van den Heever

Toyota Cheetahs Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Willie le Roux, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Robert Ebersohn (vc), 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Riaan Smit, 9. Piet van Zyl, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Lappies Labuschagne, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Ligtoring Landman, 4. Lodewyk de Jager, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Adriaan Strauss, 1. Coenie Oosthuizen. Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Waltie Vermeulen, 19. Boom Prinsloo, 20. Sarel Pretorius, 21. Elgar Watts, 22. Howard Mnisi.

Referee: Stuart Berry.

follow Dave on @djvanman on twitter


About Dave

I totally love sport. Rugby, cricket and soccer, but my first love will always be rugby. Other than sport I write my own poems and other interestings articles. I also love cooking. A man of many talents. When it come to Cricket I'm a Cape Cobras, Kolkata Knight Riders and Proteas supporter. Soccer there is only one team and that is Man United and Germany internationally. Other than that I'm a loving father and husband.

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Super 15 Rugby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: